Tata Hexa to be launched on Jan 18, 2017


According to several media reports, Tata Motors’s much awaited Hexa crossover will be launched on Jan 18, 2017. Note that the bookings have already been started over a month ago, for a refundable amount of Rs 11,000. The Hexa can be had either in 6 or 7 seat configuration, Manual or Automatic, 4WD or 2WD. There will be 14 variants of Hexa in total.

Coutesy: Team-BHP

Courtesy: Team-BHP


The Hexa will have multiple driving modes, which Tata calls “Super Drive Modes”, and will come with a rotary drive mode selector knob in the center console. Explaining all the 4 modes in Tata’s words –

Auto Mode – In this mode, the Hexa’s performance, is optimized to adapt itself automatically to all surface conditions. Kicking-in the vehicles control systems based on the road conditions, in Auto Mode the system provides for a confident and reassuring drive, regardless of the surface or the kind of driver. With a focus on stability and traction at all times, the Hexa in Auto Mode is also well balanced in terms of power and safety. Maneuverability is maintained even in extreme situations, with improved utilization of the friction potential between the tires and road.

Comfort Mode – In comfort mode, the engine power output of the Hexa, provides for a comfortable drive. In this mode, the engine will deliver precise power, allowing constant cruising speeds on the highway and improving control without loss of ride comfort, for long journeys.

Dynamic Mode – In Dynamic mode, the vehicle achieves maximum power & acceleration, performing well during extreme handling maneuvers, on curvy roads, or while drifting. In Dynamic Mode the Hexa’s ESP kicks in later, or at just about the right time, to ensure safety.

Rough Road Mode – In this mode, allows the driver to explore challenging off-road driving conditions or move over other unyielding obstacles. Braking performance is also tuned to support rough road surfaces, in comparison to other drive modes, causing wheel lock ups in a controlled manner. This mode not only optimizes ride stability, but also enhances the vehicles dynamic performance, further delivering more progressive control in slippery and tough conditions.


The Hexa comes powered by 2.2 litre 4 Cyl VARICOR 400 diesel engine, producing 154 bhp and 400 Nm of torque. However, this engine is only for XM and XT trims. For the entry level XE, Tata is packing a 320 version of the 2.2 diesel, producing 148 bhp and 320 Nm of torque. Transmission options include 6 Speed Manual or 6 Speed Auto, and can be had either in 2WD or with optional 4WD hardware (XT variant). XE trim only gets a 5 Speed Manual. The crossover measures 4788 mm in length, 1903 mm in width and 1791 mm in height, and has a wheelbase of 2850 mm. Ground clearance is at 200 mm. 60 litre fuel tank should be good enough for crossing borders. Driver aids such as ABS with EBD and ESP are available.

The only proper rival for the Hexa I can think of is the king of the segment – Toyota Innova Crysta.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Note: Comments that are unrelated to the post above get automatically filtered into the trash bin.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top