Cadillac to return to Le Mans with a new hybrid racer


Cadillac announced that it will compete in the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship and Automobile Club de l’Ouest (ACO) LMDh category in 2023 with a fourth-generation V-Series prototype currently under development. Christened ‘LMDh-V.R’, the prototype will conform with IMSA and ACO Le Mans Daytona hybrid specifications, Cadillac said.

As with the Cadillac DPi-V.R, the LMDh-V.R will be a partnership between GM Design and the constructor Dallara. A new Cadillac engine will be combined with the hybrid system. Cadillac’s program will partner with Chip Ganassi Racing and Action Express Racing. The LMDh-V.R will make its debut on the track for the first time at the Rolex 24 Hours at Daytona in January 2023, before taking part in the 24 Hours of Le Mans.


Cadillac only shared a rearview rendering of the prototype, which looks pretty close to a batmobile, except that it is not fully black.

We are looking forward to the new international prototype formula and running the Cadillac LMDh. We have had a great relationship across three different racing disciplines with GM and we are looking forward to developing the car with Cadillac and Dallara over the next year-and-a-half. – Chip Ganassi

The IMSA LMDh category is looking to be very competitive with multiple manufacturers. We’ve had a lot of success running the Cadillac DPi-V.R as one of the original teams since 2017, and we are looking forward to being a part of the next chapter of Cadillac Racing. – Gary Nelson, AXR team manager

Cadillac Racing achievements with the DPi-V.R include:

  • Winning the Rolex 24 at Daytona four times in a row: 2020, 2019, 2018 and 2017
  • Winning the Michelin North American Endurance Cup four times: 2020, 2019, 2018 and 2017
  • Winning the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship twice: 2018 and 2017
  • Prior to competing in the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, Cadillac competed in the Pirelli World Challenge Championship, earning five Manufacturing Championships (2014, 2013, 2007, 2005), and five Driver’s Championships (2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2005).
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Note: Comments that are unrelated to the post above get automatically filtered into the trash bin.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top