Audi’s quattro division is now Audi Sport

Audi Sport GmbH

In a rather unexpected move, Audi renames its quattro division to Audi Sport. quattro is a performance division of Audi, similar to Mercedes’ AMG or BMW’s M division. Founded in 1983 in Neckarsulm, Germany, the quattro division specializes in performance and permanent all wheel drive technology. The word quattro literally translates to “four” in Italian.

Audi says, besides developing RS and R8 models, the Audi Sport is responsible for customer motorsport – Audi Sport customer racing, as well as customization options via the Audi exclusive program, plus lifestyle articles marketed as the Audi Sport collection. The name Audi Sport is inspired by the company’s involvement in motorsports such as DTM, Formula E, GT racing and in the TCR category.

The brand’s RS tradition started in 1994 with the appearance of the Audi RS 2 Avant. The current models from Audi Sport are RS 3, RS Q3, RS 6 Avant, RS 7 Sportback, RS 7 Sportback performance, TT RS Coupé, TT RS Roadster, R8 Coupé, R8 Spyder and S8 plus.

Former Lamborghini President & CEO Stephan Winkelmann took over as Managing Director of the company since March 15, 2016, and will continue to be so. Audi Sport GmbH has around 1,200 employees at locations in Neckarsulm and Ingolstadt.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Note: Comments that are unrelated to the post above get automatically filtered into the trash bin.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top